I applied to 1000+ jobs in the last 6 months and here’s what happened


Looking for a job can be an arduous and overwhelming process. And for some, it may seem like an endless cycle of submitting resumes and cover letters, only to be met with silence or rejection.

Introduction

In the last six months, I applied to 1000 jobs across various industries and positions. I was determined to be hired during these difficult times. Even though I still am unemployed in this blog post, I'll share my experience and what I learned from applying to so many jobs.

The Reality of Job Hunting

The reality of job hunting is that it's a numbers game. The more jobs you apply to, the higher your chances of landing an interview. However, applying to 1000 jobs in six months is no easy feat. It requires dedication, organization, and most importantly, patience. It's easy to get discouraged when you don't hear back from employers, but it's important to remember that it's not personal. Employers receive hundreds of applications for each job posting, so they can't respond to everyone. I understand that although they receive so many applications I needed to stand out by working on projects, and certifications, and continue learning even when applying for jobs. This can be hard week after week with generic rejection emails or worse, no response at all.

Quality Over Quantity

While it's important to apply to as many jobs as possible, it's equally important to focus on quality over quantity. Before applying, take the time to research the company and the position. Tailor your resume and cover letter to the job description and highlight your relevant skills and experience. It's better to apply to fewer jobs that you're well-suited for than to apply to every job that comes your way. I for example read 1000 job posts and only applied to those that I qualified or met about 80% of the qualifications for. This is still incredibly time-consuming and will exhaust even the strongest-willed.

Networking is Key

As I continued my job search, I quickly realized that networking is key. Reach out to friends, family, and former colleagues to let them know you're looking for a job. Attend industry events and job fairs to meet new people and learn about new opportunities. LinkedIn is also a great resource for job seekers. Connect with people in your desired industry and don't be afraid to reach out and ask for advice or a referral. Also, remember to attend events even if you don’t think it will be worth it. I found some of the best connections through Hackathons and MLH events!

Keep an Open Mind

Throughout my job search, I also learned the importance of keeping an open mind. Sometimes, the perfect job may not come in the exact package you were expecting. Don't be afraid to apply to jobs that may not be your dream job, but still align with your skills and experience. You never know where a job may lead you or what you may learn from the experience. Keep an open mind and be willing to take on new challenges. Remember that FAANG companies are such a small portion of the employers looking at different industries from Fintech, Start Ups, Business Niches, etc.

Don't Give Up

Finally, it's important to remember not to give up. Job hunting can be a long and frustrating process, but it's important to keep pushing forward. Take breaks when you need to and take care of yourself, but don't give up on your job search. For me I would apply continuously for many hours a day but it becomes hard to also see 1000 rejections. Even now as I search for my new position I learned that it can be daunting and unforgiving and painful to be rejected especially now amid so many losing their job. I am still determined and ready for any opportunity!

Conclusion

Applying to 1000 jobs in six months was a daunting task, but it taught me a lot about job hunting. The reality is that it's a numbers game, but it's important to focus on quality over quantity. Networking is also key to finding new opportunities. Remember to stay positive and patient throughout the process. Your hard work will pay off in the end.

Proof

-> For those who will inevitably ask here is part of the proof 855 applications through LinkedIn, 148 Applications through Otta, and around 50+ on Google Jobs.

Have an opening contact me!

Did you find this article valuable?

Support Lorenzo Balderrama by becoming a sponsor. Any amount is appreciated!